Access Policies at Public Community Colleges

Jenkins, D., & Boswell, K. (2003). State policies on community college remedial education: Findings from a national survey. Washington, D.C.: Center for Community College Policy, Education Commission of the States. Retrieved February 26, 2005, from These changes have increased enrollment in remedial education at public community colleges. Most states have instituted evaluation programs to monitor such enrollment at the community college and transfer to four-year institutions.
Ten states currently prohibit or discourage remedial education at public four-year institutions: Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, New Mexico, South Carolina, Utah, and Virginia. Louisiana will prohibit such coursework beginning in 2005. Remedial education is being curtailed with the City University of New York System and the California State University System. Massachusetts restricts such enrollment to a smaller percentage.